Illinois Year of Manufacture Law

Updated: Jul 12, 2019


In Illinois — yes, you can display Year of Manufacture license plates on you classic or antique vehicles.


We quote excerpts of the Illinois law below. Basically, it is this:

  • Attach the historical license plates that match the year of your vehicle

  • Keep your regular EA or AV license plates inside your vehicle

  • Keep your current registration inside your vehicle

That’s it!!


Read the statues below for details. (This might be handy to have to help explain the code to an officer who has never encountered it before.)


Chapter 625 Vehicle Code of Illinois

Sec.

5/3-804 Antique Vehicles (VA plates)

5/3-804.1 Expanded-use antique vehicles (EA plates)


5/3-804.1 Expanded-use antique vehicles (EA plates)

The owner of a motor vehicle that is more than 25 years of age or a bona fide replica thereof may register the vehicle as an expanded-use antique vehicle.

1) from January 1 through March 31 and from November 1 through December 31, the vehicle will be driven on the highways only for the purpose of going to and returning from an antique auto show or an exhibition, or for servicing or demonstration; and

2) the mechanical condition, physical condition, brakes, lights, glass, and appearance of such vehicle is the same or as safe as originally equipped.

From April 1 through October 31, a vehicle registered as an expanded-use antique vehicle may be driven on the highways without being subject to the restrictions set forth in subdivision (1).

(b) Any person who is the registered owner of an expanded-use antique vehicle may display a historical license plate from or representing the model year of the vehicle, furnished by such person, in lieu of the current and valid Illinois expanded-use antique vehicle plates issued thereto, provided that the valid and current Illinois expanded-use antique vehicle plates and registration card issued to the expanded-use antique vehicle are simultaneously carried within the vehicle and are available for inspection.

(Source: P.A. 100-956, eff. 1-1-19.)


5/3-804 Antique Vehicles (VA plates)

(a) The owner of an antique vehicle may register such vehicle for a fee not to exceed $13 for a 2-year antique plate. The application for registration must be accompanied by an affirmation of the owner that such vehicle will be driven on the highway only for the purpose of going to and returning from an antique auto show or an exhibition, or for servicing or demonstration and also affirming that the mechanical condition, physical condition, brakes, lights, glass and appearance of such vehicle is the same or as safe as originally equipped.

(b) Any person who is the registered owner of an antique vehicle may display a historical license plate from or representing the model year of the vehicle, furnished by such person, in lieu of the current and valid Illinois antique vehicle plates issued thereto, provided that valid and current Illinois antique vehicle plates and registration card issued to such antique vehicle are simultaneously carried within such vehicle and are available for inspection.

(Source: P.A. 91-37, eff. 7-1-99.)


Happy Cruising!

Barb Sistak and Tom Baur

The License Plate Gal and The License Plate Guy

at License Plate Garage


P.S. If you are looking for year of manufacture license plates, try our online stores:

https://www.ebay.com/str/thelicenseplategal

and

https://www.ebay.com/str/thelicenseplateguy



©2018 License Plate Garage. All rights reserved. Site designed by Debbie Mackall.